Pam’s Pears

A dear friend asked me if I could make guest place cards for her wedding table.    She showed me a couple of pictures on the internet of apples with paper “leaves” attached to serve as place cards.   She provided cardstock in both beige and green, wanting me to use my best judgement with color choice, and gave me her guest list.  First, I went and purchased a granny smith apple (as she was planning on using) so I could decide if the greens of the card stock and apple would work together.  

Since I hate going to a party and have guests squinting to read the names on place cards, I wanted the leaf as big as I could make it while staying in proportion to the apple. 

Pam's pears stencil

After drawing a leaf shape I was happy with, I used it as a template to trace and cut out others several at a time while maximizing the cardstock.  I cut out several more than I needed so that I didn’t have to worry about making mistakes. Next, I drew a guideline in pencil on the leaves so that the names would be straight and uniformly placed. 

Pam's pears guestlist

I took Pam’s guest list and played with the size on my wordprocessing program.  I wanted to know what size font would fit on the leaf and where to center it.  I used these as a guide as I wrote.  I experimented with different pens and inks.  Unfortunately, the ink of my dip pens was running with this particular cardstock, so I couldn’t use the nib I wanted.  I ended up using a fountain pen with a sepia cartridge.  If using a more florid writing style, I recommend spending a few minutes writing with dip pens and fountain pens to warm up.  Your letters will flow better.  Have a spare piece of cardstock nearby to practice or to adjust the ink flow of your nib.

Pam's pears given them uniform form

After allowing the ink to dry on the leaves, I erased the guideline with a white plastic eraser.  I didn’t like the way the leaves looked so stiff and flat in the pictures Pam showed me, so I made them more leaf-like by gently pulling them between my fingers and a chop stick to give them two soft curves.

Pam's pears 8

Pam ended up using pears instead of apples.  

Joann Arruda Photography  is kindly letting me use some of her beautiful photos of the placesettings.  You can click here for to go to the photographs of Pam’s wedding on Joann’s blog.  

WEDD

Thanks to Joann Arruda Photography!

Thanks to Joann Arruda Photography!

Thanks to Joann Arruda Photography!

WEDD

Thanks to Joann Arruda Photography!

WEDD

Thanks to Joann Arruda Photography!

WEDD

Thanks to Joann Arruda Photography!

WEDD

Thanks to Joann Arruda Photography!

The photographer at Hotel Villa Amor in Sayulita, Mexico took the last three photos.

http://hotelvillaamorsayulita.com/

Pam's pears

Pam's pears 2.2 Pam's pears 3

I took it as a compliment that everyone snapped pictures of their own place setting!

