Hummer Nest Duel

Hummingbird scavenging a nest from last year to make her own elsewhere.

Hummingbird scavenging a nest from last year to make her own elsewhere.

A female hummingbird had been scavenging nesting material from a year-old nest outside my window to build another elsewhere throughout January.  Now that I have returned from my trip to Mexico, I have seen her scouring inch-by-inch the fence, the flower pots, and the undersides of the patio furniture looking for spiders and other small insects to feed the babies (which I haven’t found yet). 

Cotton in the bougainvilleas

Cotton in the Bougainvillea

Today I went into my studio to check emails and found the other female, from last year, sitting on her old nest repairing and rebuilding it.   I promptly went outside and hung cotton and batting from my bougainvilleas for her to use.  My arms up stretched, trying to wrap the cotton so that it wouldn’t blow away, the scavenging female came within mere centimeters and buzzed my head and arms looking for spiders before continuing on to the rest of the patio.

The nest in its current post-scavenged state with a few new materials and repairs

The nest in its current post-scavenged state with a few new materials and repairs

Meanwhile, last year’s female rebuilding her nest has been brutally fencing with the scavenging female for the territorial rights of my patio.  I am apprehensive about the mommy-to-be rebuilding in my snow bush because it became overwatered and has lost many of its leaves.  With the amount of crows around here, I don’t think her eggs will last long without some sort of camouflage. 

Even so, I do hope I have baby hummingbirds outside my window this year!!!

