Nido-ing

Nest 2 019

Hummingbird nest with two eggs the size of Jelly Belly jelly beans.

I woke up this morning, ready to get going.  I got dressed and, after about a half an hour, I went into my bedroom to make my bed.  Pulling back the comforter, I began to smooth the sheets and blankets underneath.  The incredible amount of warmth still retained here lulled me with a siren’s song I couldn’t resist!  I lay down on the warmest spot right in the middle of my bed.  My body and brains relaxing and melting into the radiating comfort.  How delicious!!!   I snuggled deeper into the top-most blankets, pulled the warm down comforter around me, grabbed a pillow, and nestled in half-nap.

When I decided to open my eyes about 40 minutes later, they first spied a jay-like bird hopping in the branches of the palm outside my window.  I was reminded of the hummingbird nest that was once there as I finished luxuriating in my own. 

I sighed to myself.

Nests are lovely things!!!

The beginnings of a hummingbird nest.

The beginnings of a hummingbird nest.

Nest 2 003

A storm came and took this nest with the two eggs out one evening. This is after I sewed the nest back into the palm and replaced the one surviving egg in hopes that the mummy hummingbird would return.

Before the storm,

Before the storm,

They are really well camouflaged.

They are really well camouflaged.

Can't see her at all!!!

Can’t see her at all!!! This is how I felt nestled in my down this morning!

