Rocket Potato

I try to eat pretty healthy.   In order to do so, I prepare most of my own food, which is difficult because I am always on the run.  Here is one of my favorite salads, which is super-duper easy, satisfying, and good for you.  It is also good for those who have a high-stress lifestyle, or if one has been feeling overly aggressive.  Potato is soothing.  It reduces inflammation.  It balances the assertive, go-get ‘em yang energy of your lifestyle with comforting compassionate yin.

I discovered the easiest way to make a baked potato and without using aluminum or a microwave—both of which kind of freak me out.  The way I bake the potato doesn’t use any oil either.  I found this cooking method when I was researching doctors through the ages who have cured cancer*.  I bake the potato more or less as described in The Gerson Therapy by Charlotte Gerson and Morton Walker.

To make the salad, I prepare the potato an hour before I am going to use it.

Pre-heat the oven to 425° Fahrenheit

Scrub an organic potato clean in the sink.  It is really important to leave the skin on.  The skin of the potato is where all the potassium is.  Potato skins are one of the best sources of potassium available!  The skins are also what contain most of the other goodies that potatoes offer: B6, niacin, C, lysine and fiber.  Preferably, your potato won’t have any eyes.  If it does, trim them out.  Do not use potatoes that are green.  Solanine can develop with the chlorophyll and potentially make you sick.  If you aren’t sure if it is green, trim away the questionable part.  You should be good to go!

Put your scrubbed potato on the middle oven rack.  Don’t worry if the oven is completely to temperature yet or not.  Smaller potatoes (the size of tennis ball) will take about 35 minutes, medium potatoes (tennis ball and a half) will take about 45 minutes, a larger potato will take an hour-ish.  There is no exact time, but I will show you how to check if it is done.  Anyway, give a guestimate as to how long you think your potato will take to cook.  Now you can close the oven and forget about your potato for whatever half of the time of your guess is.  The larger potato pictured will take an hour to cook, so I am going to check on it in about a half an hour.  The hot potatoes are very laid back about the time.  Don’t fret about it.

Okay, it has been about 35 minutes.  I flipped it over on its other side.  I used my fingers, but I should probably tell you to use a fork or tongs and to do it cautiously.  Close the door and come back in 30 minutes.

I actually peeked in on it about 25 minutes later, but it wasn’t quiet done yet.  I check by poking it with a fork.  The fork should easily pierce to the middle of the potato without meeting any crispy, crunchy, or firm resistance in the middle. The only thing that should resist a little is the now crispy skin.  If it doesn’t feel like cake in the middle, cook it a little more.  I turned it so that the side that seemed the firmest was facing down and let it cook for another 10 minutes.  When I checked it again, it was perfect!!!

I broke my perfectly fluffy potato in half to let it cool a bit before I add it to the greens.

As the potato cools, I turn out some pre-washed arugula in a large bowl.  Arugula is an excellent source of antioxidants and anticancer compounds called glucosinolates.  It is high in Vitamin A, and a good source of minerals like zinc.   I drizzle the greens copiously with a good-quality, strong tasting olive oil (I really like olive oil from Spain and Sicily).  Olive oil is good for you.  Don’t skimp. I then sprinkle this with a fair amount of good salt.   Add enough so that it will taste good once you add the potato.  You should not be using ordinary table salt.  (Most have anti-caking agents made from aluminum.  I warned you I was a little freaky about it.  Give your poor body a break from the aluminum already!)  I prefer grey Celtic salt, but for this batch I used pink Himalayan because I was too lazy to grind the Celtic.  I did grind some peppercorns fresh and also added these to the arugula and tossed it all together.  The greens in the picture look a little yellowish from the olive oil.

I add the potato and toss some more.  Adjust seasoning to taste.  I didn’t do it here, but while the potato is still warm, this would be a good time to add some grated Parmesan or cheddar cheese to your salad if you so choose.   I wonder how this would be with a dollop of yogurt.  I bet it would be pretty good.  I will need to try that sometime soon.  Bon appetite!

*I have had friends that didn’t believe me when I told them there have been doctors who have apparently cured people of cancer without chemo or radiation.  Here are two good specials to watch for some background.  You can make your own decisions as to whether there is any merit to any of the work these various doctors have done.  I am not advocating, opposing, or affiliating myself with the views presented below or offering any kind of medical advice.  I present this information here merely as “food for thought”.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=taeMemGJyEI This is about one current doctor who has cured some of the most lethal types of cancer.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l7k-GlLhpp8 Snipets of various doctors throughout history and does not include the one above.

Both films spend the first 20-30 minutes setting up things. The second goes into why the FDA is the way that it is.

Post resources:

The Encyclopedia of Healing Foods; Michael Murray ND, Joseph Pizzorno ND, and Lara Pizzorno MR, LMT

Healing with Whole Foods, 3rd Edition; Paul Pitchford

Wild Flavors; Didi Emmons

